The Acton Institute previously offered Juan de Mariana Scholarships to Catholic priests, religious, and laity from countries with developing or transitioning economies to attend Acton University.

Named after the sixteenth century Spanish theologian, Juan de Mariana (1536-1624), these scholarships included a student fellowship and a need-based travel scholarship.

Acton University is a unique, four-day exploration of the intellectual foundations of a free and virtuous society. Guided by a distinguished international faculty, Acton University is an opportunity to examine the free and virtuous society through a demanding academic program that integrates rigorous philosophy, Christian theology and sound economics.

The eligibility requirements for those who have been awarded a Juan de Mariana Scholarship are:

  1. be a practicing Catholic.
  2. a citizen of a country with an economy deemed by the Acton Institute to be developing or transitioning.
  3. attend or commit to attending one of the seven conferences sponsored by the Acton Institute as part of its Poverty, Entrepreneurship, and Integral Development program.